United States Issues “Do Not Travel” Warning for Parts of Mexico

United States Issues “Do Not Travel” Warning for Parts of Mexico

The U.S. Department of State has issued a “do not travel” warning for travelers heading to Mexico this spring.

Mexico is a popular tourist spot, especially for college students, young adults, and families alike. However, the United States government has issued a recent warning for travelers to Mexico because of an increased risk of crime and kidnapping due to heightened cartel activity.

In the Department of State’s most recent warning, “do not travel” notices have been issued for Colima, Guerrero, Michoacan, Sinaloa, Tamaulipas, and Zacatecas due to increased crime and kidnapping.

The State Department is also encouraging individuals to reconsider travel to seven more states; Baja California, Chihuahua, Durango, Guanajuato, Jalisco, Morelos, and Sonora.

For travelers heading to Cancun, Cozumel, the Rivera Maya, or elsewhere in the Quintana Roo state, the State Department is encouraging travelers to exercise extreme caution and practice situational awareness.

The full list of places in Mexico to avoid can be found here.

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *