Countries Where U.S. Travelers Must Have A Visa

Countries Where U.S. Travelers Must Have A Visa

Though a United States passport can get you to a lot of places in the world without a visa, there are some destinations where all U.S. citizens must obtain one. 

United States passports are some of the most powerful travel passes in the world. They can get you anywhere in Europe for up to three months under the automatic Schengen Visa. They can also get you to parts of the Middle East and Asia, and many places in South and North America. Additionally, U.S. travelers can head to the U.K. for up to six months or countries like Georgia for up to a year without a visa. 

In South and Central America

Starting in January of this year. American passport holders were no longer able to travel to Brazil without a visa as they had in previous years. Now they must obtain an e-visa in order to visit Brazil. Those visiting Cuba must obtain a Cuban Tourist Card which can be purchased online and allows you to stay for up to 30 days. 

In Africa

Egypt requires travelers to apply for an e-visa, which includes the submission of your passport, travel itinerary, and proof of hotel bookings. A printed version of this visa must be presented at Egyptian customs upon arrival. In Kenya, a printed visa is also required upon arrival. American citizens can apply for a Kenyan tourist visa online from anywhere in the world and receive it within 48 hours of application. 

In the Middle East

Iran requires a tourist visa for entry. Those who wish to apply must do so through the Iranian Interests Section at the Embassy of Pakistan in Washington, DC.  

In Asia

American tourists must apply for travel visas in certain countries including Vietnam, China, and Myanmar. In Vietnam, tourist visas are valid for up to 30 days before they must be renewed. In Myanmar, tourist visas are valid for 90 days from the date of issuance, and tourists can stay for up to 28 days. In China, when you apply for a visa ahead of your trip, immigration officials will decide how long you are permitted to stay. In India, an e-Tourist Visa is valid for either 30 days, one year, or five years depending on your choice during the application process. 

In Russia

A visa is required prior to entry. Tourists can choose between a three-year multiple entry visa or a three-year single entry visa at a Russian embassy or consulate.

In Oceania

Australia requires U.S. passport holders to apply for electronic authorization or an “Electronic Travel Authority” (ETA) from the Australian government, according to AFAR. Those who wish to apply must do so no later than 24 hours ahead of departure. Applying for an ETA is easy with the AustralianETA app though there is a fee of approximately $150. These visas are valid for up to one year once issued and allow for multiple stays of up to 90 days down under.

To check and see what the current visa requirements are for U.S. citizens traveling abroad click here.

Related Post